History of North America

Andean Community of Nations - Andean Pact

The Andean Community of Nations , Andean Pact or Andean Group is an economic bloc that was founded on May 26, 1969 by South American countries. In Spanish, the name of the block is Comunidad Andean (CAN).

Flag of the Andean Community of Nations

It was through the “Carthagena Agreement” that the bloc that until 1996 was called the Andean Pact was born.

The agreement that inaugurated it was named after it was signed in the Colombian city of Cartagena de Indias. Currently, its headquarters are located in the capital of Peru, Lima.

Member Countries

Flag of Member Countries

The countries that are currently part of the Andean Community of Nations are:

  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Peru

Note that Venezuela and Chile no longer belong to the Andean Community of Nations. Venezuela, a member since 1973, left the community in 2006, announced by President Hugo Chávez, later joining Mercosur.

Chile entered the Community in 1969 and remained until 1976 when the military Augusto Pinochet points out some economic incompatibilities and differences of interests. It is currently one of the associated countries.

Associated and Observer Countries

In addition to the member countries, the Andean Community has associated countries:

  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Chile
  • Paraguay
  • Uruguay

In addition to the associated countries, there are the observer countries:Mexico and Panama.

Characteristics and Objectives

CAN's main objective is to develop the economy, politics, social and cultural fields through the integration of the countries involved.

In addition to integration, the Andean Community proposes cooperation, friendly relations and the improvement of the population's quality of life.

With about 120 million inhabitants, the Community's GDP is approximately 400 billion dollars.

In 1979, some bodies responsible for the execution of the block were created:

  • Andean Court of Justice;
  • Andean Parliament;
  • Andean Council of Foreign Ministers.

All bodies are commanded by articulating institutions of the Andean Integration System (SAI) which include:

  • Andean Presidential Council;
  • General Secretariat;
  • Simón Bolívar Andean University;
  • Labour and Business Advisory Board;
  • Latin American Reserve Fund (FLAR);
  • Andean Development Corporation (CAF);
  • Agreements.

The Andean Free Trade Zone was created in 1992, which facilitates the commercialization of products between member countries with the reduction or exclusion of customs duties.

In addition, the community provides for the free movement of people between the countries involved, without the need for a visa.

In 2001, the “Andean Passport” was created. In 2004, through the “Cuzco Declaration”, it was proposed that Mercosur and the Andean Community create a free trade zone between the countries involved in the two blocs.

This proposal will facilitate and intensify socio-economic relations between the countries of South America. With this, there is also the possibility of creating a Latin American Common Market.

Read Also :

  • Economic Blocks
  • Globalization
  • Mercosur
  • Unasur
  • Andean America
  • South America
Economic Blocks - All Matter
Previous Post